Healthy recipe #1: BBQ Chicken Fajita Salad

fajita saladSo currently I am trying to be extremely healthy because for once in my life I actually do want a toned summer body, rather than squirming every time I have to go near a strappy top and a pair of shorts.

This means that I am exercising every day – either a the gym or doing my exercise DVD at home. However, we all know that you can only burn so much off with exercise and that you have to eat right too.

So, it’s time for the salads again! I know what you’re thinking, BORING. Believe me, when people used to say that they were eating salad for lunch, I would literally not understand how they managed to eat a whole plate.

However, salads don’t have to be boring! There are so many yummy ingredients out there now, that they can literally be once of the most exciting and tasty dishes out there.

What you must watch out for though is that if you do start piling on too many things to your salad, it is going to be just as bad (if not worse) than having a plate of chips.

Now I am a HUGE fan of mexican food fan, so I decided that my first salad in a while would have to incorporate this, which is why I went for BBQ chicken mexican fajita.

What you will need: 

  • Chicken (One breast per person)
  • Mushrooms
  • Onions (white or red)
  • Red or yellow peppers
  • Fajita seasoning
  • BBQ sauce
  • Italian-style/baby leaf salad

Method: 

First of all cut the chicken up into strips and then gently cook on a low heat using a few sprays on low-fat cooking spray oil. My favourite to use is Frylight’s sunflower oil verson. Once the strips have just started to cook, add in all of the other ingredients, plus a few more sprays of oil and gently turn until the ingredients starts to brown.

Next sprinkle some of the fajita seasoning on. Don’t add too much though, otherwise the flavour will be overpowering. Turn this down to a low heat.

Whilst the chicken and vegetables are finishing off prepare your salad. Italinan-style or baby leaf salad will come in a pre-washed bag, so there is no need to wash it again. Don’t use iceberg lettuce for this recipe, as it won’t have the same effect. You should then dress the salad with some vinegar, as well as a little sprinkle of salt.

By now, the chicken & vegetables should be fully cooked. Just place a typical serving onto the salad and t zig-zag on some of the barbeque sauce (my favourite sauce to use is Hp’s Barbecue Classic Woodsmoke Sauce).

And there you have it – your yummy and healthy meal is served!

Added extras

I wanted to be really healthy, so kept my salad quite plain. However, if you’re feeling a little more naughty or adventurous, you can also add a dollop of guacamole or creme fraiche to make your salad even more Mexican. Or why not try a few tortilla chips too – these can be crushed if you like.

Also, you will notice in the picture of my salad that there are in actual fact no peppers. This is only because I thougjt I had some at home, but I didn’t (boo). I would definitely recommend including them though.

So there you have it, a tasty BBQ chicken fajita salad! let me know what your favourite salads are & keep your eyes peeled for more healthy recipes on the blog

Sam x

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Chicken Fajita Salad | Lisa Tiller

Leave a comment